CURA300 Studio Practice Initial Ideas – Plimsolls

In my practical work I have often been interested in communicating ideas around social well-being through the use of recognizable symbols.  I also use my own experiences as a source of inspiration, but try to use ideas which could be cross-transferable to individuals.  Using objects, images and symbols I aim to create a narrative open to interpretation but which the viewer could perhaps empathize or find some familiarity within the work.

In terms of perception and objects, I had come across something which had created a narrative within my mind and brought about uncomfortable memories of my adolescent school days.  The ‘phenomenon’ in question was a pair of plimsolls (black trainer shoes) hanging from a tree that I had noticed over the past two years when walking my daughter to school.  For some reason and perhaps because of my own experiences, my perception of these plimsolls gave me a troublesome feeling in the pit of my stomach.  On witnessing these abandoned shoes I built up a narrative in my head that they had got there, through some kind of bullying incident between school children.  That perhaps a group of ‘popular’ kids had stolen the shoes from a vulnerable classmate and lobbed them in the tree for a laugh – much to the dismay of the shoe-less child.  I, of course cannot be sure of how these shoes had got in the tree and for all I knew, someone could have chucked their own shoes in the tree in the hope that their parents would buy them a new pair.  Nevertheless, I could not help feeling some sense of empathetic trauma every time I passed the tree.

Plimsolls hanging in tree. Photograph by Helanie Moore
Plimsolls hanging in tree. Photograph by Helanie Moore

I did not particularly enjoy my years at secondary school and was never one of the popular kids.  I was also subjected to bullying because of my religious upbringing which made me an easy target for prejudice and harassment.

With this in mind, I felt I could use this image in my practical work because of the strong effect it had had on me and perhaps it could potentially have some relevance to other people too.

 

Leave a Reply

