Projector/Projection

One of my peers William Danby had purchased a mini projector for his project.  It worked by projecting a smaller image/video than what a normal projector (or one that I would have had to borrow from PCA’s ERC) would project.  It also produced sound which would be clear enough for my own project.  Furthermore, it could use an SD card as opposed to linking a projector to a laptop.  I felt this would be perfect for my own project and decided to order one. The room that I was using for my film installation was only 2.5m x 1.85m in size.  I thought that the use of a mini projector would allow for less equipment and would not clog up the room with unnecessary speakers and/or laptop or distract from the school desk, chairs and film. I asked Ryan Curtis if he could make me a small projector shelf for the corner of the room behind the chairs.  Although he made it exactly how I wanted it, I could not get the angle right for the projected film to only cover the lid of the school desk.  William Danby suggested adding a bracket underneath the shelf.  This worked brilliantly and I managed to re-position the projected video toward the lid of the desk.

Film projection on to school desk lid. Image by Helanie Moore
Film projection on to school desk lid. Image by Helanie Moore
Mini Projector on bracket under shelf. Image by Helanie Moore
Mini Projector on bracket under shelf. Image by Helanie Moore

Although I probably didn’t need the shelf in the first place, it was not a distraction or offensive to my installation and the bracket was actually now attached to it.  I decided to keep the shelf for practicality reasons i.e. I could place the projector’s remote control on it and my business cards for PCA’s summer show – although I was not 100% sure I wanted this in my installation.

 

Leave a Reply

